Upcoming MatchSC Villa vs Soltilo Bright Stars/17/04/2024/Muteesa II Stadium Wankulukuku

About Us

Here is all you need to know about us

Our Mission

To be a leading football club both on and off the pitch in Uganda and beyond.

Our Vision

To inspire hope and belief in young people that their dreams can come to reality

Our Values

Unity, Excellence, Passion, Respect, individual and collective responsibility, Fairness and equality, Integrity.
Club Ownership
Soltilo Uganda Limited 70%
Ronald Mutebi 19%
Ahmed Marsha Hussein 6%
Joseph Mubiru 3%
Tadeo Miiro 2%
Our story

Our History

Soltilo Bright Stars Football Club was established in 1997 as a football academy for the U-12, U-14, U-16 and U-18 age groups by Abdallah Kafeero. The main purpose for the starting the football program was to bring together youth from the Kawempe area of Kampala and give them a purposeful life and the right to dream through football.

In its formative years, Soltilo Bright Stars Football Club registered for Kawempe area second division league (now called the 5th Division) and played the 2004/5 and the 2005/6 seasons in that division before progressing to the next tier. At this stage, the team was still led by players like Joseph Mubiru and Wamala Gombe among others.

In 2006/7 the Club was promoted and played four good seasons in the 1st Division (now called 4th division) before qualifying to the Kampala Regional League. The main players in the team were once again Joseph Mubiru, Miiro Tadeo, Male Robert, Festo Sserunjogi Festo, Simon Ssemakula, Hassan Musiramu, the twins;Wasswa and Kato, Wycliff Mwesigwa, Jimmy Lukwago and among many others.

Mr. Ronald Mutebi and Ahmed Marsha Hussein joined the management of the team in 2008 and 2009 respectively.

The Club participated in the 2010/2011 Regional league for only one season and progressed to Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) Big league the following year.

The Club participated in the 2011/12 FUFA Big League and won promotion to the Uganda Premier League in 2013. The protagonists at the time were Willy Kyambadde, Geoffrey Kawere, Tom Masiko (on loan from KCCA) Huzzaifal Ssegirinya, Bernard Muwanga, Akram Kakembo, Robert Male and Wycliff Mwesigwa among others.

We had a commendable inaugural season in the 2013/2014 Uganda Premier League and finished 12th on 29 points. The club recruited to supplement the stars from previous seasons to wit; Mubarak Tenywa, Ismail Kigozi, Musa Ndagiza Kaliwra, Livingstone Kawuma, Hussein Mayanja, and Rashid Engule among others.

We had an improved campaign in the 2014/2015 Uganda Premier League season and finished 7th on 38 points. This season ushered in players like Uganda Cranes goalkeeper Mathias Kigonya, Abubaker Tabula, Jimmy ‘Kacanga” Kakooza , John Kokas Opejo, Joseph Nsubuga and the late Jimmy Lule Kibirige and Joshua Kawadwa.

The 2015/16 and 2016/17 Uganda Premier League seasons were not as kind as the previous two but nonetheless, the team continued to establish itself in the Uganda Premier League The team had the likes of former Uganda Cranes goalkeeper Nicholas Sebwato,Abdullah Kanana, John Kivumbi John, Baker Lukooya,Hakim Mugerwa and  Bruhan Matovu, Innocent Asiimwe, Victor Aweko, Jakech Samson, Seif Batte, Methodius Jungu,  and  Jackson Kibirige among others,

The year 2017 ushered in the Soltilo era with Japanese international football Keisuke Honda acquiring the majority stake in the Club through his company Soltilo Uganda Limited. Along with Soltilo, came Grace Kwizera, Harold Atukwatse, Ian Mutenda and Yo Tabuchi as administrators in the Club. The family was growing.

The 2017/18 Uganda Premier League season also ushered in players like Uganda Cranes International Nelson Senkatuka, Fred Segujja, Andrew Kaggwa,Sula Sebunza, Jungu Methodius and former Uganda Cranes goalkeeper Hamza Muwonge.

In 2019 the Club contested in the Uganda Cup final against Proline at the Masaka Recreation Grounds. The game ended one all and was decided on penalties with Proline FC taking the day.The Club had beaten Express Football Club and Uganda Revenue Authority FC enroute the final.

The 2019/ 2020 season started with the official name change from Bright Stars FC to Soltilo Bright Stars Football Club. It also ushered in a new era with Mohammed Kisekka appointed as head coach. Mohammed was later replaced with Paul Kakande Kiwanuka who served for just six months. The Club then appointed Abubaker Mbowa in 2020 who served for a year.

Names & Numbers By The Years

Top Scorers by the Years

  • 2013/14 – Hassan Kikoyo5 Goals
  • 2014/15 – Anthony Bongole 4 Goals
  • 2015/16 – Anthony Bongole 6 Goals
  • 2016/17- Fred Ssegujja 7 Goals
  • 2017/18 – Nelson Senkatuka 15 Goals
  • 2018/19- Nelson Senkatuka 16 Goals
  • 2019/20 – Joseph Janjali 7 Goals
  • 2020/21 – Samuel Kayongo Ssekamatte 12 Goals
  • 2021/22 - Nelson Senkatuka 8 goals
  • 2022/23 - Nelson Senkatuka14 goals

Coaches by the years

  • 2011-13 John Kayanja
  • 2013/14 Mbabazi Livingstone
  • 2014-19 Fred Kisitu Kajoba
  • 2019/20 Muhammad Raymeid Kisekka /Paul Kakande Kiwanuka
  • 2020/21 Abubaker Mbowa
  • 2021/22Simon Peter Mugerwa(interim)
  • 2022Paul Kakande Kiwanuka
  • 2022/23Asaph Mwebaze Jr
  • 2023/24Joseph Harold Mutyaba